Your browser is unsupported

We recommend using the latest version of IE11, Edge, Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Five Fellows are 2024 Silver Circle Awardees

Since 1966, the Silver Circle Award has been presented to some of UIC’s best teachers. Winners, who are honored at their college commencements, receive $500 and their names join a long list of distinguished colleagues. But what makes the award especially meaningful is its selection committee: the graduating seniors.

This year’s winners are:

Tomer Kanan, Clinical Assistant Professor in Kinesiology and Nutrition, Applied Health Sciences

William O’Brien, Associate Professor in Finance, Business Administration

Luís Gabriel Ganchinho de Pina, Assistant Professor in Computer Science, Engineering

Julia Yun Soo Kim-Cohen, Sr. Lecturer in Psychology, Liberal Arts and Sciences

Mitchell F. Roitman, Professor in Psychology, Liberal Arts and Sciences